autoprofile watch without full path

Post Reply
EpicFail
Posts: 12
Joined: 13 Feb 2013, 05:01

autoprofile watch without full path

Post by EpicFail »

Im hoping to set my autoprofile watch without full path. I want to use either just the executable name or relative path from xpadder.exe to define the watch. I tried manually tweaking the ini, but it only works when I have the full path.

I have xpadder running on an external hard drive I plug into different computers. I was hoping to use autoprofiles and avoid writing a script to change profiles on certain conditions.

Is this possible and I'm doing something wrong?

Jonathan
Xpadder creator
Posts: 1639
Joined: 24 Aug 2009, 11:33
Location: England
Contact:

Re: autoprofile watch without full path

Post by Jonathan »

Just so I'm understanding. Is this example correct?

External HD:
Xpadder\Xpadder.exe
Game\rungame.exe

The external HD may appear as D, E or F on whichever PC you attach it to so you want the watch to be "..\Game\rungame.exe" to catch its location relative to Xpadder?

EpicFail
Posts: 12
Joined: 13 Feb 2013, 05:01

Re: autoprofile watch without full path

Post by EpicFail »

Yes, that would be very similar example.

Primal Fear
Xpadder Xpert
Posts: 2437
Joined: 09 Feb 2010, 16:41
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: autoprofile watch without full path

Post by Primal Fear »

How about "Recent Windows->Select Title" in this case?

EpicFail
Posts: 12
Joined: 13 Feb 2013, 05:01

Re: autoprofile watch without full path

Post by EpicFail »

Primal Fear wrote:How about "Recent Windows->Select Title" in this case?
I think that is still based on full system path. I can only guarantee that the relative path will stay the same.

Actually that will work assuming all the apps I'm using have a valid window title. Thanks.

Primal Fear
Xpadder Xpert
Posts: 2437
Joined: 09 Feb 2010, 16:41
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: autoprofile watch without full path

Post by Primal Fear »

It won't work for example for web browsers and text editor as they change the title name according to the currently opened web site or file. But for the most games it works fine.

Jonathan
Xpadder creator
Posts: 1639
Joined: 24 Aug 2009, 11:33
Location: England
Contact:

Re: autoprofile watch without full path

Post by Jonathan »

EpicFail wrote: Actually that will work assuming all the apps I'm using have a valid window title. Thanks.
Window title is a good method - never thought of that!
If it doesn't work then let us know and I'll look into adding relative path saving for exes on the same (non-C) drive as Xpadder.

ravermeister
Posts: 21
Joined: 21 Jun 2012, 21:44

Re: autoprofile watch without full path

Post by ravermeister »

Hi, I really would appreciate this feature too,
I need that for the scenario described here:
http://xpadder.com/forum4/viewtopic.php?f=178&t=4425

crossing fingers that you will pick it up into your todo list :)
but maybe dont restrict it to the same Drive where xpadder is stored, so you can type a Path
like D:\something\*.exe
even if your xpadder is in C:\Program Files\Xpadder\xpadder.exe

Kind regards,
Ravermeister

ravermeister
Posts: 21
Joined: 21 Jun 2012, 21:44

Re: autoprofile watch without full path

Post by ravermeister »

...project still alive?

Jonathan
Xpadder creator
Posts: 1639
Joined: 24 Aug 2009, 11:33
Location: England
Contact:

Re: autoprofile watch without full path

Post by Jonathan »

If siteisup then project=alive :D

EpicFail
Posts: 12
Joined: 13 Feb 2013, 05:01

Re: autoprofile watch without full path

Post by EpicFail »

I ended up doing more automation on my own using AutoHotkey. I ended up having a lot configurations so the added flexibility helped me out. For example if you were running an emulator like dosbox and wanted to have different controls per game I could do it easily with AHK. Really I guess you could use any scripting language, but AHK has some powerful built in features that aren't typical to other scripting languages. I ended up having to do all my xpadder profile stuff from one AHK script and like chain them together. Xpadder would complain, something about the processes not matching.

ravermeister
Posts: 21
Joined: 21 Jun 2012, 21:44

Re: autoprofile watch without full path

Post by ravermeister »

I created a little tool for xpadder that does the trick:
http://jonnyrimkus.square7.ch/www_mopro ... %20Builder
but maybe I'll check out auto hotkey anyway.
Kind regards and thanks for your help

Ravermeister

EpicFail
Posts: 12
Joined: 13 Feb 2013, 05:01

Re: autoprofile watch without full path

Post by EpicFail »

ravermeister wrote:I created a little tool for xpadder that does the trick:
http://jonnyrimkus.square7.ch/www_mopro ... %20Builder
but maybe I'll check out auto hotkey anyway.
Kind regards and thanks for your help

Ravermeister
Will you provide some info on how this works and how to use it?

ravermeister
Posts: 21
Joined: 21 Jun 2012, 21:44

Re: autoprofile watch without full path

Post by ravermeister »

Sure, will ad an info into the help section maybe this weekend ;)

It works as follows:

First it loads the ini file.
then when you go to tools->multiprofile
- you must choose the xpadder executable (required for calculating relative path to the .xpadderprofile as xpadder uses relative pathes when possible)
- you can choose an .xpadderprofile (it will be the profile which will be added to the AutoProfiles with the found executables) no profile means 'ignore default' for xpadder
- at least you specify a Folder, in these folder the program searches for any exe file (recursively)
- When you press saveIni, the original ini file will be backed up in
%HOMEPATH%\.xpadderbackup
and the new ini file with all AutoProfile entries for the found executables will be written.

EpicFail
Posts: 12
Joined: 13 Feb 2013, 05:01

Re: autoprofile watch without full path

Post by EpicFail »

So this pretty much does the same thing as the built in feature of xpadder, but with a different interface?

ravermeister
Posts: 21
Joined: 21 Jun 2012, 21:44

Re: autoprofile watch without full path

Post by ravermeister »

not exactly.
in xpadder you have to choose ONE exe file at a time.
with my program you can define an Auto Profile for ALL exe files
inside a Folder structure at once :)
so this should "work around" the problem that you can't define an Autoprofile with a exe Path like this C:\somefolder\*.exe

ravermeister
Posts: 21
Joined: 21 Jun 2012, 21:44

Re: autoprofile watch without full path

Post by ravermeister »

I've added the explanation,
and made the exe files chooseable so you can apply
only the one's you want :)

Post Reply

Return to “AutoProfile problems”