Autoprofile does not detect SWTOR programs in watch list

Post Reply
cskuva
Posts: 5
Joined: 28 Dec 2011, 20:19
Contact:

Autoprofile does not detect SWTOR programs in watch list

Post by cskuva »

I'm running the latest version of Xpadder using Win 7 Home Premium, SP1, 64-bit. I've created a profile for Star Wars The Old Republic (SWTOR) which I've tested, but now I'm having trouble creating an autoprofile entry for it. While SWTOR is running, I've added the new entry, selected the SWTOR profile, then highlighted this new entry, and clicked the "Edit Watch" button. When I click the "Recent Windows" button, it does not show any Star Wars-related EXEs. (I'm looking for either Launcher.exe or swtor.exe.) I know they're running because I can "see" them in the Windows Task Manager.

I've tried checking "Run as administrator" for xpadder (When I did this, Win 7 would not start Xpadder at system startup.), the launcher, and swtor.exe, but it doesn't appear in the watch list. When I try to manually enter the program name in the watch list, it still won't open the profile. For some reason, Xpadder doesn't recognize that either of these programs is currently running.

I've got autoprofile running for 4 other games, so I'm pretty sure I'm setting things up correctly. I know others have had some weird things happen with autoprofile, but I didn't see a post where the programs weren't showing up in the list. Any ideas?

Thanks

Primal Fear
Xpadder Xpert
Posts: 2437
Joined: 09 Feb 2010, 16:41
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Autoprofile does not detect SWTOR programs in watch list

Post by Primal Fear »

The AutoProfile feature works actually as it should, the usual problem is that some people misunderstand features or don't know how to do something. However, there is a problem that the AutoProfile feature cannot pickup certain programs.

Try following:
Run Xpadder as admin, open the AutoProfile feature, select the entry with the profile for the game and click "Edit Watch" and move on to the recent windows list. Leave everything open and start the game and then close it directly when you a in the title screen. Now you should see the game on top of the Recent Windows List. So if there is something strange, try to select this.
If there is something on top you know about that it's something different, then Xpadder can definitely not detect the game.
What you can try if Xpadder definitely doesn't detect the game, is to select the .exe file manually. Click on "Select Program" instead on "Recent Windows" and select manually for the swotr.exe.
cskuva wrote:When I try to manually enter the program name in the watch list, it still won't open the profile. For some reason, Xpadder doesn't recognize that either of these programs is currently running.
Did you enter the program name by editing the Xpadder.ini? If so, thats not really promising if Xpadder doesn't detect the game anyways. Also Xpadder doesn't show running programs, but windows that were in focus while Xpadder was running. In focus is only the window you currently use, everything is in background and will not appear in this list as long you didn't bring it in front.

cskuva
Posts: 5
Joined: 28 Dec 2011, 20:19
Contact:

Re: Autoprofile does not detect SWTOR programs in watch list

Post by cskuva »

Everything you've suggested I've already tried. I've got several other games running autoprofile successfully via the "recent window", so I'm confident that I am using the correct procedure. Also, I've tried the "select program" option, attempting to watch for either the launcher or swtor.exe, but to no avail.

BTW, I've had problems running xpadder as admin. I've right-clicked on xpadder.exe, selected "properties", clicked on the compatibility tab, and checked "Run as administrator". This did not fix the aforementioned problem. In fact, things got worse. The next time I rebooted the PC, xpadder refused to autostart. I had to double-click on the programs to start it. Unchecking "run as admin" fixed that problem.

I'm getting really frustrated - This just shouldn't be this difficult...

Thanks

Primal Fear
Xpadder Xpert
Posts: 2437
Joined: 09 Feb 2010, 16:41
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Autoprofile does not detect SWTOR programs in watch list

Post by Primal Fear »

In fact you should have to answer the question "If you really want to allow..." when starting Xpadder as admin. That would be really uncomfortable with every startup, and officially it is not possible to work around this UAC prompt. But that doesn't mean that it wouldn't be possible.

I have Windows UAC disabled, so I don't have these "unpleasant things" by the User Account Control. But I wouldn't recommend that to everyone, as long as I don't know if this person is experienced enough to renounce on these security settings.
However, I'm onto different possibilities that can workaround this UAC Prompt :shifty:. Would it be an alternative for you to run your game with a shortcut that also starts Xpadder as admin and loads the profile?

cskuva
Posts: 5
Joined: 28 Dec 2011, 20:19
Contact:

Re: Autoprofile does not detect SWTOR programs in watch list

Post by cskuva »

I would prefer to not disable UAC, since Vista/7 would complain about it until the end of time if I should do so. I had set both the swtor launcher and exe to run as admin, and it didn't seem to help.

What makes you think that this is a UAC issue? Is that because the processes are not showing up in the "Recent Window" in Xpadder?

I manually ran Xpadder as admin and the programs never showed up in the list, so I'm not convinced that it's UAC. At least, not by itself.

I really want xpadder to be available at startup, but at present it won't start up automatically if I have Xpadder.exe set with "Run as administrator" checked. What's the deal with that?

And I though Vista was problematic...

Primal Fear
Xpadder Xpert
Posts: 2437
Joined: 09 Feb 2010, 16:41
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Autoprofile does not detect SWTOR programs in watch list

Post by Primal Fear »

Yes I also prefer for you to not disable Windows UAC, but it isn't true that Windows complains about UAC is disabled. In fact it's quieter than ever.

I don't think that it is a UAC issue that Xpadder cannot pickup the running swtor.exe, I suppose that it's simply that the game is hiding from such focus loggers to avoid getting detected by cheat tools. So my plan is to run Xpadder via a Batch file containing the command line option out of the help file.
Advanced Starting: Show

Code: Select all

Advanced Starting

The command line options can be used with the command prompt, a batch file or a shortcut.

Xpadder "Profile1" "Profile2" "Profile3" "Shortcut.lnk" /M /C /?

* All options can be combined in any order.
* Switches (for example, /M) can be in upper or lower case.
* If filenames and/or paths include spaces then they must be enclosed in quotes.
* If no command line options are listed and this program is already running then the main window will restore or minimize.

Profile
Starts this program and automatically opens the profile(s) onto each controller. If this program is already running then the profiles will be automatically opened.

* If no controllers are connected then the profile(s) will open when a controller is connected
* If only one profile is specified and more than one controller is connected then the selected controller will open the profile
* If more than one profile is specified and more than one controller is connected then the first profile will be opened by the first controller and so on
* If the profile extension is omitted it will be automatically added

Shortcut.lnk
Starts this program (if it is not already running) and launches the shortcut.

* The shortcut must be a ".lnk" file and you must include the ".lnk" extension
* To launch an executable first create a shortcut To it and use the name of that shortcut
* Shortcuts will only launch when at least one controller is found, All controllers are connected and All profiles have successfully opened

/M
Starts this program minimized. If this program is already running it will be minimized if necessary.

/C
Closes this program if it is already running - if this program is not already running then it will not start.

/?
Displays this help window
But I expect that the game runs with admin rights as it is a MMO, so you have to run Xpadder anyways as admin too to have the profile work.
In this matter: If you load the profile manually and start the game without admin setting in the compatibility settings on, does the profile work? Or do you have to run Xpadder as admin too?
cskuva wrote:I really want xpadder to be available at startup, but at present it won't start up automatically if I have Xpadder.exe set with "Run as administrator" checked. What's the deal with that?
Xpadder doesn't start for me too with UAC enable and "run as admin" on. I don't exactly know the reason, but I suppose Windows wants to avoid to show the UAC prompt with every startup.
I have tested this way as working to run Xpadder with Windows as administrator. You only have to also set up a trigger to run this task with the system log in.

cskuva
Posts: 5
Joined: 28 Dec 2011, 20:19
Contact:

Re: Autoprofile does not detect SWTOR programs in watch list

Post by cskuva »

You're probably right about Win 7. In Vista, though, a dialogue baloon pops up in the systray every time you boot if you've turned off UAC.

I manually selected my swtor profile, then entered the game. SWTOR did not recognize my Logitech Rumblepad 2.

The link you've embedded also shows how to set up shortcuts, etc. I wouldn't need anything except creating a task (with elevated privileges) to run at startup in the scheduler. Correct?

By the way, every time I start SWTOR, I get the UAC prompt. However, I get this prompt even when I check the "Run as admin" option in both "launcher.exe" and "swtor.exe" compatibility tab.

Does any or all of this make sense to you. If so, can you itemize the steps I need to execute to get around Win 7 (UAC or not)?

Thanks again for your words of wisdom.

Errol
Xpadder Xpert
Posts: 294
Joined: 02 Oct 2011, 19:48
Location: Strange Place
Contact:

Re: Autoprofile does not detect SWTOR programs in watch list

Post by Errol »

cskuva all this problem to play your game with this problem of UAC. Why don't you turn it off completely and that will solve all your problems. All you have to do is go into the Control Panel and open up User Accounts > Change User Account Settings and pull down the slider bar all the way down and all your problems will be solved. I have myself my 20 yr old daughter and my wife who uses my PC and I don't need user account to be there for me. Once User Account is off everything will run with elevated privileges.

Image

cskuva
Posts: 5
Joined: 28 Dec 2011, 20:19
Contact:

Re: Autoprofile does not detect SWTOR programs in watch list

Post by cskuva »

Thanks. I knew how to disable UAC... I was just hesitant to do so. To keep my "story" simple, I had stated that this was my PC that I was having problems with. Truth is that this is my 14 year old's PC, and I wanted to keep UAC enabled to prevent him from doing something potentially stupid. However, after weighing the 'advantages' and 'disadvangtages' of UAC, I decided to turn it off. As you predicted, everything works fine now.

Thanks for everything!

Primal Fear
Xpadder Xpert
Posts: 2437
Joined: 09 Feb 2010, 16:41
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Autoprofile does not detect SWTOR programs in watch list

Post by Primal Fear »

You can create one task that starts Xpadder with elevated privileges with every system startup or login (I would prefer the last one) without UAC prompt. If Xpadder detects the game now (with admin rights), then you can forget the second task and simply use the AutoProfile feature to load the profile.
If not, you can create another task which loads the profile for Xpadder and starts the game with elevated privileges. Then you can create a shortcut for this task anywhwere and make it looking like it would be a shortcut for the game. Also working without UAC prompt.
The only problem is that loading a profile that way disables the AutoProfile feature and makes it necessary to load the default profile manually to have the AutoProfile feature back active (alternatively it can directly be activated in the settings).

If you are still interested in this solution, I will help you to setup these tasks.

Errol
Xpadder Xpert
Posts: 294
Joined: 02 Oct 2011, 19:48
Location: Strange Place
Contact:

Re: Autoprofile does not detect SWTOR programs in watch list

Post by Errol »

@cskuva well my three daughters, myself and my wife all have access to my PC at the same time since 2001 'til the present. My first two daughters are married and left home to there new home so I got my last daughter at home. Now you'll say whats all this got to do with me, just read on and you'll get my point. My last daughter likes to play games since 2001 to present i.e. she was 9 at the time now she's 20 well thats all gone now she's on a different thing now. But when she was going to College in our country from Form 1 till she finished college they (the College) had a lot of PCs in school and they had placed a security to block them from accessing free for all on the Internet in other words they had limited access, only to educational areas. Somehow or the other at that time she was 14 at the time, another student got wind from other sources that they could hack the system and get full access to the Internet. Let me tell you what they did to access the Internet. They entered "www.www.www.www." just as you see it and they had access to the full Internet. Up to this day I believe not a single Teacher, Dean or the Principal does not know that.

My point is every child that is born a normal person whether they are educated or not is smarter than the parents and they can do stuff that you and I cannot even dream to think of. The only way you can be ahead of them is to have God in your life and he showing you every move so you can discern what they're up to. So when you said that you had UAC on for your 14 yr old son I was kind of taken aback because if you think you can prevent him from having access to porn or any other stuff via the Internet bro you're wasting your time. They're always one step ahead of you, all I can say to you is you got to be loving and diligent not nagging because you'll lose him. Kids nowadays will always play us as a fool because they see right through us especially when you tell them something and you doing a different thing. We have a saying here "Do as I say but don't do as I do" bro the best teacher there is in the world for kids are there parents not no double tongue person telling them one thing and you doing another.

Post Reply

Return to “AutoProfile problems”