Walk/Run feature on Joystick

Post Reply
Tierney11290
Posts: 11
Joined: 23 Jun 2014, 02:38

Walk/Run feature on Joystick

Post by Tierney11290 »

I searched like crazy trying to find a previous post on this, but couldn't find anything. If there is a post on it, please point me in the right direction!

I am trying to enable the ability to walk when the joystick is pushed in so far, then enable run after a certain threshold is met. For example, When pressing the joystick in (which is bound to say W) the character runs, no matter how far you push it in. What I would like to do is to push it in about 40% and make the character walk; after 40%, the character runs. With the game I am trying to accomplish this with, the binding for Walk/Run is set to semi-colon ( ; ). So when you hit the key, your character walks (toggled), when you hit it again, the character runs as normal. I have tried many key combinations (also failed to make it work via Pinnacle), but it seems as though the controls get confused and the character gets stuck walking or running. So is this possible to do?

Primal Fear
Xpadder Xpert
Posts: 2437
Joined: 09 Feb 2010, 16:41
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Walk/Run feature on Joystick

Post by Primal Fear »

If there is only a key to toggle the movement speed (not one that you have to hold), it's getting complicated. However this should work:

Code: Select all

;--- Xpadder Profile Data ---
DataType=Profile
Version=2013.06.07
Name=toggle walk->run on stick
Set1Stick1UpSlots=W,DISTANCE ZONE 60%,W,RELEASE ZONE 0.01s,W,PAUSE 10m00.00s,DISTANCE ZONE 60%,TAP TIME 0.01s,Semi-Colon,W
Set1Stick1UpToggle=1
Set1Stick1UpTurbo=1
Set1Stick1UpTurboRate=2
Set1Stick1UpSetSelect=1
Set1Stick1RightSlots=D,DISTANCE ZONE 60%,D,RELEASE ZONE 0.01s,D,PAUSE 10m00.00s,DISTANCE ZONE 60%,TAP TIME 0.01s,Semi-Colon,D
Set1Stick1RightToggle=1
Set1Stick1RightTurbo=1
Set1Stick1RightTurboRate=2
Set1Stick1RightSetSelect=2
Set1Stick1DownSlots=S,DISTANCE ZONE 60%,S,PAUSE 10m00.00s,RELEASE ZONE 0.01s,S,DISTANCE ZONE 60%,TAP TIME 0.01s,Semi-Colon,S
Set1Stick1DownToggle=1
Set1Stick1DownTurbo=1
Set1Stick1DownTurboRate=2
Set1Stick1DownSetSelect=1
Set1Stick1LeftSlots=A,DISTANCE ZONE 60%,A,RELEASE ZONE 0.01s,A,PAUSE 10m00.00s,DISTANCE ZONE 60%,TAP TIME 0.01s,Semi-Colon,A
Set1Stick1LeftToggle=1
Set1Stick1LeftTurbo=1
Set1Stick1LeftTurboRate=2
Set1Stick1LeftSetSelect=2
Set2Stick1UpSlots=W,DISTANCE ZONE 60%,W,RELEASE ZONE 0.01s,TAP TIME 0.01s,Semi-Colon,W,DISTANCE ZONE 60%,TAP TIME 0.02s,W,TAP TIME 0.01s,Semi-Colon
Set2Stick1UpToggle=1
Set2Stick1UpTurbo=1
Set2Stick1UpTurboRate=2
Set2Stick1UpSetSelect=0
Set2Stick1RightSlots=D
Set2Stick1DownSlots=S,DISTANCE ZONE 60%,S,RELEASE ZONE 0.01s,TAP TIME 0.01s,Semi-Colon,S,DISTANCE ZONE 60%,TAP TIME 0.02s,S,TAP TIME 0.01s,Semi-Colon
Set2Stick1DownToggle=1
Set2Stick1DownTurbo=1
Set2Stick1DownTurboRate=2
Set2Stick1DownSetSelect=0
Set2Stick1LeftSlots=A
Set3Stick1UpSlots=W
Set3Stick1RightSlots=D,DISTANCE ZONE 60%,D,RELEASE ZONE 0.01s,TAP TIME 0.01s,Semi-Colon,D,DISTANCE ZONE 60%,TAP TIME 0.02s,D,TAP TIME 0.01s,Semi-Colon
Set3Stick1RightToggle=1
Set3Stick1RightTurbo=1
Set3Stick1RightTurboRate=2
Set3Stick1RightSetSelect=0
Set3Stick1DownSlots=S
Set3Stick1LeftSlots=A,DISTANCE ZONE 60%,A,RELEASE ZONE 0.01s,TAP TIME 0.01s,Semi-Colon,A,DISTANCE ZONE 60%,TAP TIME 0.02s,A,TAP TIME 0.01s,Semi-Colon
Set3Stick1LeftToggle=1
Set3Stick1LeftTurbo=1
Set3Stick1LeftTurboRate=2
Set3Stick1LeftSetSelect=0
But there are some problems with that:
-you have to redo Set1 two times (you can also copy the set and then implement my example using Notepad as I have explained here).
-you cannot use any other set selection while walking (should only be assigned and used in Set1)
-it may unwanted switch to Set2 or Set3 if you don't use the left stick for more than ten minutes without unloading the profile (depends on what has been triggered at last) which would screw up the walk/run toggle, but you can (if really necessary) increase this time almost infinitely by adding more 10m pauses behind the current one for each direction in Set1
-also I didn't test it ingame, it may also screw up the walk run/toggle if you do something unusual with the stick like moving it quickly in circles

Tierney11290
Posts: 11
Joined: 23 Jun 2014, 02:38

Re: Walk/Run feature on Joystick

Post by Tierney11290 »

Primal Fear wrote:If there is only a key to toggle the movement speed (not one that you have to hold), it's getting complicated. However this should work:

Code: Select all

;--- Xpadder Profile Data ---
DataType=Profile
Version=2013.06.07
Name=toggle walk->run on stick
Set1Stick1UpSlots=W,DISTANCE ZONE 60%,W,RELEASE ZONE 0.01s,W,PAUSE 10m00.00s,DISTANCE ZONE 60%,TAP TIME 0.01s,Semi-Colon,W
Set1Stick1UpToggle=1
Set1Stick1UpTurbo=1
Set1Stick1UpTurboRate=2
Set1Stick1UpSetSelect=1
Set1Stick1RightSlots=D,DISTANCE ZONE 60%,D,RELEASE ZONE 0.01s,D,PAUSE 10m00.00s,DISTANCE ZONE 60%,TAP TIME 0.01s,Semi-Colon,D
Set1Stick1RightToggle=1
Set1Stick1RightTurbo=1
Set1Stick1RightTurboRate=2
Set1Stick1RightSetSelect=2
Set1Stick1DownSlots=S,DISTANCE ZONE 60%,S,PAUSE 10m00.00s,RELEASE ZONE 0.01s,S,DISTANCE ZONE 60%,TAP TIME 0.01s,Semi-Colon,S
Set1Stick1DownToggle=1
Set1Stick1DownTurbo=1
Set1Stick1DownTurboRate=2
Set1Stick1DownSetSelect=1
Set1Stick1LeftSlots=A,DISTANCE ZONE 60%,A,RELEASE ZONE 0.01s,A,PAUSE 10m00.00s,DISTANCE ZONE 60%,TAP TIME 0.01s,Semi-Colon,A
Set1Stick1LeftToggle=1
Set1Stick1LeftTurbo=1
Set1Stick1LeftTurboRate=2
Set1Stick1LeftSetSelect=2
Set2Stick1UpSlots=W,DISTANCE ZONE 60%,W,RELEASE ZONE 0.01s,TAP TIME 0.01s,Semi-Colon,W,DISTANCE ZONE 60%,TAP TIME 0.02s,W,TAP TIME 0.01s,Semi-Colon
Set2Stick1UpToggle=1
Set2Stick1UpTurbo=1
Set2Stick1UpTurboRate=2
Set2Stick1UpSetSelect=0
Set2Stick1RightSlots=D
Set2Stick1DownSlots=S,DISTANCE ZONE 60%,S,RELEASE ZONE 0.01s,TAP TIME 0.01s,Semi-Colon,S,DISTANCE ZONE 60%,TAP TIME 0.02s,S,TAP TIME 0.01s,Semi-Colon
Set2Stick1DownToggle=1
Set2Stick1DownTurbo=1
Set2Stick1DownTurboRate=2
Set2Stick1DownSetSelect=0
Set2Stick1LeftSlots=A
Set3Stick1UpSlots=W
Set3Stick1RightSlots=D,DISTANCE ZONE 60%,D,RELEASE ZONE 0.01s,TAP TIME 0.01s,Semi-Colon,D,DISTANCE ZONE 60%,TAP TIME 0.02s,D,TAP TIME 0.01s,Semi-Colon
Set3Stick1RightToggle=1
Set3Stick1RightTurbo=1
Set3Stick1RightTurboRate=2
Set3Stick1RightSetSelect=0
Set3Stick1DownSlots=S
Set3Stick1LeftSlots=A,DISTANCE ZONE 60%,A,RELEASE ZONE 0.01s,TAP TIME 0.01s,Semi-Colon,A,DISTANCE ZONE 60%,TAP TIME 0.02s,A,TAP TIME 0.01s,Semi-Colon
Set3Stick1LeftToggle=1
Set3Stick1LeftTurbo=1
Set3Stick1LeftTurboRate=2
Set3Stick1LeftSetSelect=0
But there are some problems with that:
-you have to redo Set1 two times (you can also copy the set and then implement my example using Notepad as I have explained here).
-you cannot use any other set selection while walking (should only be assigned and used in Set1)
-it may unwanted switch to Set2 or Set3 if you don't use the left stick for more than ten minutes without unloading the profile (depends on what has been triggered at last) which would screw up the walk/run toggle, but you can (if really necessary) increase this time almost infinitely by adding more 10m pauses behind the current one for each direction in Set1
-also I didn't test it ingame, it may also screw up the walk run/toggle if you do something unusual with the stick like moving it quickly in circles
I will say that it is quite impressive that you figured that out so quickly! It worked pretty well for most of the directions, but had issues when it got to the Diagonal directions. I could have added them, but I am running out of Sets that I can use :/ Thanks so much for taking your time to help me!

Primal Fear
Xpadder Xpert
Posts: 2437
Joined: 09 Feb 2010, 16:41
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Walk/Run feature on Joystick

Post by Primal Fear »

What exactly do you mean? When you move the stick directly into a diagonal direction or when you move it over a diagonal direction while you are already in run mode? I could only imagine a possible timing issue between the ; key presses.

Tierney11290
Posts: 11
Joined: 23 Jun 2014, 02:38

Re: Walk/Run feature on Joystick

Post by Tierney11290 »

Primal Fear wrote:What exactly do you mean? When you move the stick directly into a diagonal direction or when you move it over a diagonal direction while you are already in run mode? I could only imagine a possible timing issue between the ; key presses.
When you move it forward then over in a diagonal direction. So yeah, when already in run mode.

Primal Fear
Xpadder Xpert
Posts: 2437
Joined: 09 Feb 2010, 16:41
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Walk/Run feature on Joystick

Post by Primal Fear »

Try if that is working better, If not I have to test it in a game myself.

Code: Select all

;--- Xpadder Profile Data ---
DataType=Profile
Version=2014.01.01
Name=toggle walk->run on stick V2
Set1Stick1UpSlots=W,DISTANCE ZONE 60%,W,RELEASE ZONE 0.01s,TAP TIME 0.01s,W,PAUSE 10m00.00s,DISTANCE ZONE 60%,TAP TIME 0.01s,W,TAP TIME 0.01s,Semi-Colon,W
Set1Stick1UpToggle=1
Set1Stick1UpTurbo=1
Set1Stick1UpTurboRate=3
Set1Stick1UpSetSelect=1
Set1Stick1RightSlots=D,DISTANCE ZONE 60%,D,RELEASE ZONE 0.01s,TAP TIME 0.03s,D,PAUSE 10m00.00s,DISTANCE ZONE 60%,TAP TIME 0.01s,D,TAP TIME 0.01s,Semi-Colon,D
Set1Stick1RightToggle=1
Set1Stick1RightTurbo=1
Set1Stick1RightTurboRate=2
Set1Stick1RightSetSelect=2
Set1Stick1DownSlots=S,DISTANCE ZONE 60%,S,PAUSE 10m00.00s,RELEASE ZONE 0.01s,TAP TIME 0.01s,S,DISTANCE ZONE 60%,TAP TIME 0.01s,S,TAP TIME 0.01s,Semi-Colon,S
Set1Stick1DownToggle=1
Set1Stick1DownTurbo=1
Set1Stick1DownTurboRate=3
Set1Stick1DownSetSelect=1
Set1Stick1LeftSlots=A,DISTANCE ZONE 60%,A,RELEASE ZONE 0.01s,TAP TIME 0.03s,A,PAUSE 10m00.00s,DISTANCE ZONE 60%,TAP TIME 0.01s,A,TAP TIME 0.01s,A,Semi-Colon
Set1Stick1LeftToggle=1
Set1Stick1LeftTurbo=1
Set1Stick1LeftTurboRate=3
Set1Stick1LeftSetSelect=2
Set2Stick1UpSlots=W,DISTANCE ZONE 60%,W,RELEASE ZONE 0.01s,TAP TIME 0.01s,Semi-Colon,W,DISTANCE ZONE 60%,TAP TIME 0.02s,W,TAP TIME 0.01s,Semi-Colon
Set2Stick1UpToggle=1
Set2Stick1UpTurbo=1
Set2Stick1UpTurboRate=2
Set2Stick1UpSetSelect=0
Set2Stick1RightSlots=D
Set2Stick1DownSlots=S,DISTANCE ZONE 60%,S,RELEASE ZONE 0.01s,TAP TIME 0.01s,Semi-Colon,S,DISTANCE ZONE 60%,TAP TIME 0.02s,S,TAP TIME 0.01s,Semi-Colon
Set2Stick1DownToggle=1
Set2Stick1DownTurbo=1
Set2Stick1DownTurboRate=2
Set2Stick1DownSetSelect=0
Set2Stick1LeftSlots=A
Set3Stick1UpSlots=W
Set3Stick1RightSlots=D,DISTANCE ZONE 60%,D,RELEASE ZONE 0.01s,TAP TIME 0.01s,Semi-Colon,D,DISTANCE ZONE 60%,TAP TIME 0.02s,D,TAP TIME 0.01s,Semi-Colon
Set3Stick1RightToggle=1
Set3Stick1RightTurbo=1
Set3Stick1RightTurboRate=2
Set3Stick1RightSetSelect=0
Set3Stick1DownSlots=S
Set3Stick1LeftSlots=A,DISTANCE ZONE 60%,A,RELEASE ZONE 0.01s,TAP TIME 0.01s,Semi-Colon,A,DISTANCE ZONE 60%,TAP TIME 0.02s,A,TAP TIME 0.01s,Semi-Colon
Set3Stick1LeftToggle=1
Set3Stick1LeftTurbo=1
Set3Stick1LeftTurboRate=2
Set3Stick1LeftSetSelect=0

Primal Fear
Xpadder Xpert
Posts: 2437
Joined: 09 Feb 2010, 16:41
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Walk/Run feature on Joystick

Post by Primal Fear »

I needed to fix few mistakes in Version2.
1. Walk forward has been getting pulsed, possibly resulting in an even slower walk speed.
2. I forgot to change the turbo rate for right in Set1, which resulted in the fact that the fix was not to working for this direction.
3. I seem to have added the Pause for backward in Set1 on the wrong position, which caused that Xpadder switched to Set2 after releasing the stick from pushing it backwards. And that should screw up the walk->run toggle.

Everything is fixed now:

Code: Select all

;--- Xpadder Profile Data ---
DataType=Profile
Version=2014.01.01
Name=walk->run Anti-Toggle V3
Set1Stick1UpSlots=W,DISTANCE ZONE 60%,W,RELEASE ZONE 0.01s,TAP TIME 0.03s,W,PAUSE 10m00.00s,DISTANCE ZONE 60%,TAP TIME 0.01s,W,TAP TIME 0.01s,Semi-Colon,W
Set1Stick1UpToggle=1
Set1Stick1UpTurbo=1
Set1Stick1UpTurboRate=3
Set1Stick1UpSetSelect=1
Set1Stick1RightSlots=D,DISTANCE ZONE 60%,D,RELEASE ZONE 0.01s,TAP TIME 0.03s,D,PAUSE 10m00.00s,DISTANCE ZONE 60%,TAP TIME 0.01s,D,TAP TIME 0.01s,Semi-Colon,D
Set1Stick1RightToggle=1
Set1Stick1RightTurbo=1
Set1Stick1RightTurboRate=3
Set1Stick1RightSetSelect=2
Set1Stick1DownSlots=S,DISTANCE ZONE 60%,S,RELEASE ZONE 0.01s,TAP TIME 0.03s,S,PAUSE 10m00.00s,DISTANCE ZONE 60%,TAP TIME 0.01s,S,TAP TIME 0.01s,Semi-Colon,S
Set1Stick1DownToggle=1
Set1Stick1DownTurbo=1
Set1Stick1DownTurboRate=3
Set1Stick1DownSetSelect=1
Set1Stick1LeftSlots=A,DISTANCE ZONE 60%,A,RELEASE ZONE 0.01s,TAP TIME 0.03s,A,PAUSE 10m00.00s,DISTANCE ZONE 60%,TAP TIME 0.01s,A,TAP TIME 0.01s,Semi-Colon,A
Set1Stick1LeftToggle=1
Set1Stick1LeftTurbo=1
Set1Stick1LeftTurboRate=3
Set1Stick1LeftSetSelect=2
Set2Stick1UpSlots=W,DISTANCE ZONE 60%,W,RELEASE ZONE 0.01s,TAP TIME 0.01s,Semi-Colon,W,DISTANCE ZONE 60%,TAP TIME 0.02s,W,TAP TIME 0.01s,Semi-Colon
Set2Stick1UpToggle=1
Set2Stick1UpTurbo=1
Set2Stick1UpTurboRate=2
Set2Stick1UpSetSelect=0
Set2Stick1RightSlots=D
Set2Stick1DownSlots=S,DISTANCE ZONE 60%,S,RELEASE ZONE 0.01s,TAP TIME 0.01s,Semi-Colon,S,DISTANCE ZONE 60%,TAP TIME 0.02s,S,TAP TIME 0.01s,Semi-Colon
Set2Stick1DownToggle=1
Set2Stick1DownTurbo=1
Set2Stick1DownTurboRate=2
Set2Stick1DownSetSelect=0
Set2Stick1LeftSlots=A
Set3Stick1UpSlots=W
Set3Stick1RightSlots=D,DISTANCE ZONE 60%,D,RELEASE ZONE 0.01s,TAP TIME 0.01s,Semi-Colon,D,DISTANCE ZONE 60%,TAP TIME 0.02s,D,TAP TIME 0.01s,Semi-Colon
Set3Stick1RightToggle=1
Set3Stick1RightTurbo=1
Set3Stick1RightTurboRate=2
Set3Stick1RightSetSelect=0
Set3Stick1DownSlots=S
Set3Stick1LeftSlots=A,DISTANCE ZONE 60%,A,RELEASE ZONE 0.01s,TAP TIME 0.01s,Semi-Colon,A,DISTANCE ZONE 60%,TAP TIME 0.02s,A,TAP TIME 0.01s,Semi-Colon
Set3Stick1LeftToggle=1
Set3Stick1LeftTurbo=1
Set3Stick1LeftTurboRate=2
Set3Stick1LeftSetSelect=0
I tested it in The Betrayer with toggle sprint, but there where a few differenced to what I expect the run toggle should work. Sprinting backwards wasn't possible anyways and it disabled the sprint automatically when I stopped moving which is good because it's fixing a possibly screwed up the toggle as soon as you stand still.

Post Reply

Return to “How do I do this combo/sequence?”