While-held glitch workaround:

While-held glitch workaround:

Post » 11 Apr 2010, 09:14

There's a problem with using multiple "while held" set selectors for temporarily switching to alternate sets. If there is more than one of these set selectors on the same set they can interupt each other. If we accidentally (and easily) press both at the same time and release one of them we're likely to end up "stuck" with the wrong set of controls when we've released both.
I've found a way that works for me. It was suggested in another thread that I paste an example profile in a new post .
This workaround can be used for 2 to 7 "alternate" sets.
Here is a set selector set-up with the workaround for 3 sets (1 base 2 alternate)

Code: Select all
;--- Xpadder Profile Data ---
Version=5.7
Name=(Untitled profile)
Set1Button5Toggle=1
Set1Button5Turbo=1
Set1Button5TurboRate=2
Set1Button5SetSelect=1
Set1Button6Toggle=1
Set1Button6Turbo=1
Set1Button6TurboRate=2
Set1Button6SetSelect=2
Set2Button5Toggle=1
Set2Button5SetSelect=0
Set3Button6Toggle=1
Set3Button6SetSelect=0


Instead of "While-held", use "two-way" set selectors with turbo on the "base" set (set1 in this example)
Remember to never have turbo on the "returning button" on any of the alternate sets.

one minor issue remains:
If one mashes the set selectors faster than the turbo can repeat, sometimes the set selectors can land us on the wrong set when we release them. but thankfully, because its two way toggles just pressing the selectors again quickly straitens out the problem. This happens rarely and its resolves itself so quickly you may not even notice during normal play.
.

Hope that helps!
User avatar
Oke_Doke
Xpadder Xpert + Moderator
Posts: 329
Joined: 21 Dec 2009, 16:17
Location: jupiter

Re: While-held glitch workaround:

Post » 14 Apr 2010, 01:39

this works great, thanks!
User avatar
LinkD
Posts: 2
Joined: 04 Apr 2010, 09:20

Re: While-held glitch workaround:

Post » 15 Apr 2010, 08:00

This is excellent.

I think this shows tho we need an Elite Help subforum in the Elite Zone {EZ} where members can discuss the finer points of Xpadder Profiling. I worry that this fine thread will be lost in this section.
User avatar
YoJembo
Xpadder Xpert
Posts: 180
Joined: 08 Mar 2010, 15:55
Location: South Australia

Re: While-held glitch workaround:

Post » 15 Apr 2010, 14:11

I have now created a Profile subforum just for Elites to share exactly this kind of clever idea.
User avatar
Jonathan
Xpadder creator
Posts: 1590
Joined: 24 Aug 2009, 11:33
Location: England

Re: While-held glitch workaround:

Post » 09 Jun 2011, 14:38

My main config (which I use to play Rift), has three sets, and I hit this problem occasionally.
When it happens, I always end up stuck in "set 3". So what I did is just assign one of the buttons
in set three to be a one-way switch back to set 1.
User avatar
nospam
Posts: 1
Joined: 27 Aug 2010, 18:26

Re: While-held glitch workaround:

Post » 01 May 2012, 10:42

This was the only reason I was paying for a membership to Joystix Pro. Now that I don't get stuck on any of my alternate sets I can continue to use Xpadder. Thank you so much!
User avatar
silentcontender
Posts: 1
Joined: 01 May 2012, 10:27

Re: While-held glitch workaround:

Post » 25 Oct 2012, 23:12

This has happened alot more recently I play GW2 I Don't understand what it means to use the Turbo in the base set
User avatar
armypewe
Posts: 4
Joined: 26 Apr 2012, 02:18

Re: While-held glitch workaround:

Post » 26 Oct 2012, 21:10

Click on the respective button in the Set where you want to be when the button is not pressed to open the Assignment window for it. Then click in the Assignment window in the lower right corner on the button "Advanced...". Now in the Advanced Assignment window, select "Turbo" on the left side then activate "Enabled" and change the "Delay to 0.02s".
User avatar
Primal Fear
Xpadder Xpert + Moderator
Posts: 2438
Joined: 09 Feb 2010, 16:41
Location: Germany

Re: While-held glitch workaround:

Post » 31 May 2014, 15:56

Oke_Doke wrote:Instead of "While-held", use "two-way" set selectors with turbo on the "base" set (set1 in this example)
Remember to never have turbo on the "returning button" on any of the alternate sets.

one minor issue remains:
If one mashes the set selectors faster than the turbo can repeat, sometimes the set selectors can land us on the wrong set when you release them. but thankfully, because its two way toggles just pressing the selectors again quickly straitens out the problem. This happens rarely and its resolves itself so quickly you may not even notice during normal play.
.

Hope that helps!


I did something very similar to nospam (below) except i assigned a one-way in each set to return to the first. assigning them to the same button on each set makes it super easy to remember and is very helpful on controllers with a usable home button such as the rock candy controllers.

nospam wrote:My main config (which I use to play Rift), has three sets, and I hit this problem occasionally.
When it happens, I always end up stuck in "set 3". So what I did is just assign one of the buttons
in set three to be a one-way switch back to set 1.
User avatar
skudmissal
Posts: 26
Joined: 03 Mar 2013, 05:22

Re: While-held glitch workaround:

Post » 14 Aug 2014, 21:15

Hi
Just joined the Forum and have created my own profile for Guildwars 2..My Problem is with the triggers not doing their Job Like changing sets and undoing what i have done and making my R2 trigger lose its set..I know you have posted a profile to help the situation..but where do i paste it into

Many Thanks
User avatar
Wizhunter
Posts: 3
Joined: 13 Aug 2014, 20:56


Return to Sets

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest