Mass Effect 1 (X360)

Share and discuss profiles
Post Reply
M47R1X
Posts: 13
Joined: 03 Oct 2012, 01:52
Location: Midwest

Mass Effect 1 (X360)

Post by M47R1X »

Note: there is an alternative to this profile, seen here: http://xpadder.com/forum4/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=5340

Both are completely valid profiles. This profile requires editing in-game controls, while the other is more plug-and-play. Now, onto the show.

This profile for Mass Effect is designed to recreate the 360 experience without sacrificing the ability to use assigned powers (the main drawback of "enabling" native controller support). I don't know how BioWare would have implemented it and kept the controls basically the same, but I did what I felt was close.

Image

Code: Select all

;--- Xpadder Profile Data ---
DataType=Profile
Version=2012.05.01
Name=Mass Effect
Set1Name=Main
Set1StickDeadZones=64,28
Set2Name=Menus
Set3Name=Powers
Set1Button1Name=Interact/Storm
Set1Button1Slots=Enter
Set1Button2Name=Draw/Holster Weapon
Set1Button2Slots=Q
Set1Button3Name=Skip Dialogue/Return to Normandy
Set1Button3Slots=Space,N
Set1Button4Name=First Aid/Repair
Set1Button4Slots=F
Set1Button5Name=Tactical HUD
Set1Button5Slots=T
Set1Button5TurboRate=2
Set1Button5SetSelect=1
Set1Button6Name=T:Power 1  H:Powers
Set1Button6Toggle=1
Set1Button6Turbo=1
Set1Button6TurboRate=2
Set1Button6SetSelect=2
Set1Button7Name=Grenade
Set1Button7Slots=R
Set1Button8Name=Pause
Set1Button8Slots=Escape
Set1Button9Name=Crouch
Set1Button9Slots=Left Control
Set1Button10Name=Scope View
Set1Button10Slots=L
Set1DPadUpName=T:Move Squad  H:Previous Weapon
Set1DPadUpSlots=HOLD ZONE 0.20s,Mouse Wheel Up,RELEASE ZONE 0.01s,Arrow Up,RELEASE ZONE 0.15s
Set1DPadRightName=T:Squad Hold Position  H:Power 4
Set1DPadRightSlots=HOLD ZONE 0.20s,3,RELEASE ZONE 0.01s,Arrow Right,RELEASE ZONE 0.15s
Set1DPadDownName=T:Rally Squad  H:Next Weapon
Set1DPadDownSlots=HOLD ZONE 0.20s,Mouse Wheel Down,RELEASE ZONE 0.01s,Arrow Down,RELEASE ZONE 0.15s
Set1DPadLeftName=T:Squad Attack  H:Power 3
Set1DPadLeftSlots=HOLD ZONE 0.20s,2,RELEASE ZONE 0.01s,Arrow Left,RELEASE ZONE 0.15s
Set1Stick1UpName=Forward
Set1Stick1UpSlots=W
Set1Stick1RightName=Right
Set1Stick1RightSlots=D
Set1Stick1DownName=Backward
Set1Stick1DownSlots=S
Set1Stick1LeftName=Left
Set1Stick1LeftSlots=A
Set1Stick2UpName=Look Up
Set1Stick2UpSlots=Mouse Move Up
Set1Stick2UpMouseSpeed=60
Set1Stick2RightName=Look Right
Set1Stick2RightSlots=Mouse Move Right
Set1Stick2RightMouseSpeed=60
Set1Stick2DownName=Look Down
Set1Stick2DownSlots=Mouse Move Down
Set1Stick2DownMouseSpeed=60
Set1Stick2LeftName=Look Left
Set1Stick2LeftSlots=Mouse Move Left
Set1Stick2LeftMouseSpeed=60
Set1TriggerLeftName=Aim/Cannon
Set1TriggerLeftSlots=Right Mouse Button (2)
Set1TriggerRightName=Shoot
Set1TriggerRightSlots=Left Mouse Button (1)
Set2Button1Name=Select
Set2Button1Slots=Left Mouse Button (1)
Set2Button2Name=Exit
Set2Button2Slots=Q
Set2Button3Name=Skip Dialogue/Select Highlighted
Set2Button3Slots=Space,Right Shift
Set2Button5Name=Tactical HUD
Set2Button5Slots=T
Set2Button5SetSelect=0
Set2Button8Name=Pause
Set2Button8Slots=Escape
Set2DPadUpSlots=Arrow Up
Set2DPadRightSlots=Arrow Right
Set2DPadDownSlots=Arrow Down
Set2DPadLeftSlots=Arrow Left
Set2Stick1UpSlots=Mouse Move Up
Set2Stick1UpMouseSpeed=60
Set2Stick1RightSlots=Mouse Move Right
Set2Stick1RightMouseSpeed=60
Set2Stick1DownSlots=Mouse Move Down
Set2Stick1DownMouseSpeed=60
Set2Stick1LeftSlots=Mouse Move Left
Set2Stick1LeftMouseSpeed=60
Set2Stick2UpSlots=Mouse Move Up,Right Mouse Button (2)
Set2Stick2UpMouseSpeed=50
Set2Stick2RightSlots=Mouse Move Right,Right Mouse Button (2)
Set2Stick2RightMouseSpeed=50
Set2Stick2DownSlots=Mouse Move Down,Right Mouse Button (2)
Set2Stick2DownMouseSpeed=50
Set2Stick2LeftSlots=Mouse Move Left,Right Mouse Button (2)
Set2Stick2LeftMouseSpeed=50
Set3Button1Name=QuickSlot 5
Set3Button1Slots=5
Set3Button2Name=QuickSlot 6
Set3Button2Slots=6
Set3Button3Name=QuickSlot 7
Set3Button3Slots=7
Set3Button4Name=QuickSlot 8
Set3Button4Slots=8
Set3Button5Name=QuickSlot 4
Set3Button5Slots=4
Set3Button6Name=QuickSlot 1
Set3Button6Slots=RELEASE ZONE 0.01s,1,RELEASE ZONE 0.30s
Set3Button6Toggle=1
Set3Button6SetSelect=0
Set3Button7Name=Grenade
Set3Button7Slots=R
Set3Button8Name=Pause
Set3Button8Slots=Escape
Set3Button9Name=Crouch
Set3Button9Slots=Left Control
Set3Button10Name=Zoom
Set3Button10Slots=L
Set3DPadUpName=Move Squad
Set3DPadUpSlots=Arrow Up
Set3DPadRightName=Squad Hold Position
Set3DPadRightSlots=Arrow Right
Set3DPadDownName=Rally Squad
Set3DPadDownSlots=Arrow Down
Set3DPadLeftName=Squad Attack
Set3DPadLeftSlots=Arrow Left
Set3Stick1UpSlots=W
Set3Stick1RightSlots=D
Set3Stick1DownSlots=S
Set3Stick1LeftSlots=A
Set3Stick2UpSlots=Mouse Move Up
Set3Stick2UpMouseSpeed=32
Set3Stick2RightSlots=Mouse Move Right
Set3Stick2RightMouseSpeed=32
Set3Stick2DownSlots=Mouse Move Down
Set3Stick2DownMouseSpeed=32
Set3Stick2LeftSlots=Mouse Move Left
Set3Stick2LeftMouseSpeed=32
Set3TriggerLeftSlots=Right Mouse Button (2)
Set3TriggerRightSlots=Left Mouse Button (1)
Before I explain what everything does, here are the keybindings that were changed:

*Tactical HUD: Sacebar => T
Storm => Enter
Change Zoom Level => L
Turret Zoom => L
Cannon = 1
Thrusters => Enter

* change the primary key, others can add secondary (so Storm is both Enter and Shift, but Tactical HUD is only T)
You can add T as a secondary key instead of replacing Spacebar, but pressing X will open your hud, which doesn't happen on the 360.

Keybinds

MAIN:
Left Stick: Movement
Left Stick Click: Crouch
Right Stick: Look
Right Stick Click: Zoom
Left Trigger: Aim/Mako Cannon
Right Trigger: Fire
Left Bumper: Tactical Menu/Menu Set
Right Bumper: (tap) Quick Slot 1, (hold) Powers Set
A: Interact/Storm/Thrusters
B: Draw/Holster Weapon
X: Skip Dialogue/Return to Normandy
Y: First Aid/Repair
Back: Grenade
Start: Mission Computer
D-pad Up: (tap) Move Squad, (hold) Previous Weapon
D-pad Down: (tap) Rally Squad, (hold) Next Weapon
D-pad Left: (tap) Squad Attack, (hold) Quick Slot 2
D-pad Right: (tap) Squad Hold Position, (hold) Quick Slot 3

MENUS:
Left Stick: Mouse Cursor
Right Stick: Mouse + Mouse Button 2 (moves the camera while the HUD is displayed)
D-Pad: Menu Navigation (arrows)
Start: Pause
A: Select
B: Exit Menu
X: Skip Dialogue/Enter (used with D-Pad in menus)

POWERS:
Same as Main, but...
D-Pad: Only squad commands
Left Bumper: Quick Slot 4
A: Quick Slot 5
B: Quick Slot 6
X: Quick Slot 7
Y: Quick Slot 8



When in conversations, it helps to hold down the left bumper and use the Menus set. I'd like to find a way to toggle the left bumper so I don't have to constantly hold it, but I'm unable to find anything as of yet.

All in all, I think I'm very close to a new-and-improved version of the original 360 layout. Let me know what you think.
Last edited by M47R1X on 15 Jul 2014, 22:02, edited 3 times in total.

oliver twist
Posts: 52
Joined: 09 Sep 2012, 18:03
Location: France

Re: Mass Effect 1 (X360)

Post by oliver twist »

thanks for the profile !!

M47R1X
Posts: 13
Joined: 03 Oct 2012, 01:52
Location: Midwest

Re: Mass Effect 1 (X360)

Post by M47R1X »

You're welcome, glad you enjoy it!

Primal Fear
Xpadder Xpert + Moderator
Posts: 2437
Joined: 09 Feb 2010, 16:41
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Mass Effect 1 (X360)

Post by Primal Fear »

Can you please modify your second post, so it would work as the first one (a little copy&pasting). After that I would delete first one (as soon as you give feedback that you are ready), so nobody inadvertently is getting the old version.

M47R1X
Posts: 13
Joined: 03 Oct 2012, 01:52
Location: Midwest

Re: Mass Effect 1 (X360)

Post by M47R1X »

The reason I'd kept the old one is that it doesn't require changing anything in-game while the second does, but if you think that's best, I'll do so when I'm next at my PC. Maneuvering on mobile is cumbersome :)

Primal Fear
Xpadder Xpert + Moderator
Posts: 2437
Joined: 09 Feb 2010, 16:41
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Mass Effect 1 (X360)

Post by Primal Fear »

We can also give each profile a own topic, if you think t would be best to keep both. But in that case you also need to make sure that the second profile post works on it's own.

jgilmore74
Posts: 2
Joined: 27 Jul 2013, 23:55

Re: Mass Effect 1 (X360)

Post by jgilmore74 »

Thanks M47R1X! This profile works great. I'm using an Xbox One controller and love your set up.

jgilmore74
Posts: 2
Joined: 27 Jul 2013, 23:55

Re: Mass Effect 1 (X360)

Post by jgilmore74 »

Thanks M47R1X! This profile works great. I'm using an Xbox One controller and love your set up.

M47R1X
Posts: 13
Joined: 03 Oct 2012, 01:52
Location: Midwest

Re: Mass Effect 1 (X360)

Post by M47R1X »

Thank you guys for the support. I moved the old one to its own thread as per Primal Fear's suggestion. You can view it at the link at the top of the first post.

Primal Fear
Xpadder Xpert + Moderator
Posts: 2437
Joined: 09 Feb 2010, 16:41
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Mass Effect 1 (X360)

Post by Primal Fear »

Actually I could have been moving the second post in a own topic, but OK it works that way too. I have deleted the empty second post.

M47R1X
Posts: 13
Joined: 03 Oct 2012, 01:52
Location: Midwest

Re: Mass Effect 1 (X360)

Post by M47R1X »

Not a problem to me either way. :)

jeff299
Posts: 3
Joined: 11 Apr 2014, 16:06

Re: Mass Effect 1 (X360)

Post by jeff299 »

FYI, this is a bit confusing with the "older" profile having the more recent thread creation date. I accidentally downloaded the old one thinking it was the new one. The disclaimer note at the top of each post is also super confusing, they basically say the same thing.

M47R1X
Posts: 13
Joined: 03 Oct 2012, 01:52
Location: Midwest

Re: Mass Effect 1 (X360)

Post by M47R1X »

Ah, sorry about that. The date isn't necessarily that important, though. While I did make one before the other, the main difference is the need to change your in-game controls. I'll edit the disclaimers. Thanks for letting me know.

-EDIT- Changes have been made in reference to Jeff's comment. Wow, so much traffic as of late. I'm a bit flattered. :oops:

dnx_7
Posts: 1
Joined: 02 Aug 2014, 14:15

Re: Mass Effect 1 (X360)

Post by dnx_7 »

Hi, i tried to use your profile but looks that in windows 8, it works (when a move the right stick, the mouse cursor moves too) but in the game, it doesn't work...
(i have a xbox one controller)

Any helps would be great.

Thank you!

M47R1X
Posts: 13
Joined: 03 Oct 2012, 01:52
Location: Midwest

Re: Mass Effect 1 (X360)

Post by M47R1X »

Does nothing work at all in game? I don't have Windows 8, so I'm not sure what help I can be in that regard, but it kind of sounds like a more general issue with Xpadder.

Primal Fear
Xpadder Xpert + Moderator
Posts: 2437
Joined: 09 Feb 2010, 16:41
Location: Germany
Contact:

Re: Mass Effect 1 (X360)

Post by Primal Fear »

Try running Xpadder as admin because of the UAC-issue.Neither Windows 8 nor the XboxOne controller should be the problem here.

jrsheahackett
Posts: 3
Joined: 30 Nov 2014, 21:36

Re: Mass Effect 1 (X360)

Post by jrsheahackett »

Very grateful for the profile, but I'm having the aiming problem I've seen mentioned on several threads but never resolved. The OP's alternate profile makes mention of the 'remnants of the 360 section' or something like that, can anyone give me a step by step of how to get my wired non-microsoft 360 controller to handle properly?

M47R1X
Posts: 13
Joined: 03 Oct 2012, 01:52
Location: Midwest

Re: Mass Effect 1 (X360)

Post by M47R1X »


jrsheahackett
Posts: 3
Joined: 30 Nov 2014, 21:36

Re: Mass Effect 1 (X360)

Post by jrsheahackett »

That's it! I don't know what to do with the file I downloaded though, I bought the game from Origin and can't find a folder with Binaries in the name. I left a post for help there but I can't help but notice the thread's been dead for two years. I'm assuming you got this to work for you, where do I put the download and how do I extract it (I tried unzipping with Winzip, is that right?)

M47R1X
Posts: 13
Joined: 03 Oct 2012, 01:52
Location: Midwest

Re: Mass Effect 1 (X360)

Post by M47R1X »

Winzip should do it, although unzipping has been integrated into Windows since XP. That folder, if I remember correctly, is C:\Program Files(might be x86)\Origin\Mass Effect\Binaries.

jrsheahackett
Posts: 3
Joined: 30 Nov 2014, 21:36

Re: Mass Effect 1 (X360)

Post by jrsheahackett »

Thanks

andyoranpeacher
Posts: 1
Joined: 10 Dec 2014, 07:19

Re: Mass Effect 1 (X360)

Post by andyoranpeacher »

So, I have my control all set up the way I am supposed to and it works on my desktop and in the notepad test but does absolutely nothing in game. Am I doing something wrong?

M47R1X
Posts: 13
Joined: 03 Oct 2012, 01:52
Location: Midwest

Re: Mass Effect 1 (X360)

Post by M47R1X »

I vaguely remember something like that plaguing me, but it's been about two years since I've been able to use this so I can't say for sure. I think it may be a permissions issue. Have you tried running both as administrator?

Post Reply